Trending Now

Alleged N20bn Diversion: Don’t Issue New Passports To Former Kwara Finance Commissioner, Others, EFCC Tells NIS


The Economic and Financial Crimes, EFCC, has directed the  Nigeria Immigration Service, NIS, not to issue new passports to the Kwara State former Commissioner for Finance, Nurudeen Banu; Commissioner for Energy, Eleja Taiwo Banu; Chief of Staff, and Abdulwahab Yusuf.

Others are: Saidu Habibat Salman, Ahmadu Abdul Yekini, Abi-Clyde Victor Olusegun, Adeyemi Ademola Olanrewaju, Gold Sola Isiaka, Mustapha Amirat Bolanle Queen, Fatigun Benjamin Sehinde and Saka Aminat Atinuke.

Omosehinde Oladayo Sunday, Gidado Abdulwahab Adekunle, Adebayo Babatunde Mohammed, Salami Rukaya Taiye, Abdulkareem Mariam Toyin, Sulyman Ladi Gaga, Agbooola Olatunde Segun and Jimoh Akeem were also among those who were mentioned.

It would be recalled that the former Kwara State Government officials whose passport have been seized had been under the watch list of the Commission, according to The PUNCH report.

The troubled former Kwara State government officials served under the immediate past Governor, Abdulfatai Ahmed, between 2011 and 2019.

According to a document dated July 17, 2019 with reference number 3000/EFCC/IL/Vol.3, addressed to the Comptroller, Nigeria Immigration Service and signed by the Zonal Head of the EFCC, Isyaku Isharu, the EFCC urged the NIS not to issue new passports to them.

In March, the anti-graft agency had effected the arrest of six commissioners and government officials in Kwara State for allegedly withdrawing N1bn a week before the National Assembly and presidential elections held on February 23.

The officials were also being investigated over alleged Paris Club refund diversion amounting to about N20bn.

For events coverage, breaking news and advert placement, contact us today or call our hotlines on +2348033599492, +2348022717838.


All rights reserved. This material and any other material on THE NEWS ACCELERATOR NETWORK  should not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from the Editor-In-Chief. 

No comments