Trending Now

Actors Guild Election: Emeka Rollas, Monalisa, Abubarkar, Branch, Others Emerge Winners


UYO,  AKWA IBOM STATE,  NIGERIA - The peaceful ambiance in the oil rich Akwa Ibom state pervaded the general elections of the Actors Guild of Nigeria (AGN) held at the prestigious Le’meridien hotel (Ibom Hotel and Golf Resort).

With the over 187 delegates from 22 states (Abia, Abuja, Adamawa, Anambra, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Cross River, Delta, Edo, Enugu, Ebonyi, Gombe, Imo, Kaduna, Kwara,  Lagos, Nasarawa, Plateau, Taraba, Yobe) of the federation came for the epoch-making elections, the AGNEC Chairman led by top actor Steve Eboh (Ajeboh) ably supported by Emma Ogugua among others went well as expected.

Excited Commissioner of Culture and Tourism Akwa Ibom State, Orman Essien, welcomed the Guild to the state and urged the Guild to chat a new course to the next level saying the state has infrastructure to make movies and that the state would partner the Guild for beneficial projects.

The Commissioner for Information, Charles Udoh, maintained that Nollywood has rebranded Nigeria and that the government of Akwa Ibom is transforming the sleepy town to an industrialised and agricultural hub in Nigeria.

Director General, Censors Board, Thomas Adedayo,  who was ably represented declared the election opened as he urged all participants to do well advising losers to support the guild to move forward.

The Chairman, Board of Trustee (BoT), Prince Ifeanyi Dike thanked AGNEC for being strong and resolute for making sure the event took place.

He reiterated the gesture of sportsmanship of losers, congratulating the winner so that the Guild would move forward. 

“It is all about service,” said Dike.

The contestants reeled out their manifestoes after which delegates asked them questions.

But for the posts of Public Relations Officer (PRO) which has Frank Dallas and Monalisa Chinda – Coker as contestants and the post of Secretary which was between, Abubarkar Sanusi and Don Pedro Aganbi, the rest were unopposed.

However, before voting took place, the hero of the day, Don Pedro Aganbi,  announced his withdrawal citing ‘national interest’ for his action.

Newly elected President of the Guild, Ejezie Emeka Rollas, thanked all for the peaceful conduct and promised to carry everyone along for the betterment of the Guild. 

He also promised to do more than he did during his tenure as Interim government of national unity.

At the end of the election, the following became the new executives of the Actors Guild of Nigeria.

National President – Emeka Rollas Ejezie

Vice President North Central - Mohammed Kareem

Vice President North West - Wassh Waziri Hong

Vice President South East - Lolo Oby Kate Okafor

Vice President South West – David Babafemi Branch

Secretary General – Abubakar Sanusi

Assistant Secretary General – Chelsea Raphael Nwodo

Financial Secretary - Emeka Duru.

Treasurer – Maradona Mikevine Paul

Public Relations Officer - Coker Monalisa Chinda

Director of Guild Services — Anigbo Clement Cowboy.

Chief Whip – Adigizi Bala.

North East Vice President did not win because he couldn’t make 2/3 of the total vote.

South South Vice president, Rita Daniels will do a Bye Election because she became sick in Uyo and was rushed to the hospital while Bar. Ikechukwu Ezenagu, contesting for the position of Vice National Secretary was disqualified because he was absent and by AGN constitution no proxy voting for or against any candidate. 

Article 4; section 4; e ”Only members present for the election shall vote and be voted for.”

Other dignitaries at the event include Hon. Desmond Elliot, President, Association of Movie Producers (AMP), Ralph Nwadike, President, Theatre Arts Motion Pictures Producers Association of Nigeria (TAMPPAN), Bolaji Amusan (Mr. Latin), President, Directors Guild of Nigeria (DGN), Fred Amata, Segun Arinze, Remy Ohajianya, Rita Edochie, John Okafor (Mr. Ibu), Ifeoma Okeke, Sony Mcdon W, Mojisola Oyatayo (Mama Ajasco), Ochendo McSmith, Uche Elendu, Imeh Bishop (Okon Lagos), Keppy Ekpeyong, Pastor Goddy Goddy, Moses Armstrong, Ronnie Dikko, among others.

For events coverage, breaking news and advert placement, contact us today @thenewsaccelerator@gmail.com or call our hotlines on +2348033599492, +2348022717838.


All rights reserved. This material and any other material on THE NEWS ACCELERATOR NETWORK  should not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from the Editor-In-Chief.

No comments